First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson **Research Director** 

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

## Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

## Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

April 29, 2015

The Honorable Michael L. Fair Chairman, South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children 1600 Hampton Street, Suite 502 Columbia, South Carolina 29208

Dear Senator Fair:

The South Carolina Restructuring Act of 2014, among other things, includes new provisions for legislative oversight of executive agencies. The purpose of this letter is to inform the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children of the agencies serving children scheduled for study by the House Legislative Oversight Committee.

The agencies serving children scheduled for study in 2015 by the House Legislative Oversight Committee include the Department of Juvenile Justice, the Department of Social Services, First Steps to School Readiness, and School for the Deaf and Blind. Additionally, the House Legislative Oversight Committee is studying the Department of Public Safety, Department of Transportation, State Transportation Infrastructure Bank, Commission for the Blind, Comptroller General's office, and Treasurer's office.

The House Legislative Oversight Committee looks forward to receiving any suggestions or comments the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children may wish to share relating to these agencies. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for the opportunity to partner with you in seeking ways to improve our great State.

Sincerely

Signature Redacted

Wm. Weston J. Newton

The Honorable James H. "Jay" Lucas, Speaker of the South Carolina House of Representatives cc:

The Honorable Neal A. Collins, Legislative Member of the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children House Legislative Oversight Committee Members

The Honorable Shannon S. Erickson, Legislative Member of the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children

The Honorable C. Bradley Hutto, Legislative Member of the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children The Honorable Mia S. McLeod, Legislative Member of the South Carolina Joint Citizens and Legislative Committee on Children and Member of the House Legislative Oversight Committee

House Legislative Oversight Committee Members

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel